Friday, 1 July 2011

Australian Goldfields Open Qualifying Day 4 - Who're Ready to Go Down Under?

Today is the last day of qualifying and we will know who will be going to Australia this July! :)

Matthew Selt whitewashed 2008 Shanghai Masters Champion Ricky Walden with 114, 53 and 54, to set up a clash against the current World Champion John Higgins. 

Stephen Hendry will be playing Martin Gould at the venue. Gould came through a exciting match against Mark Joyce, winning 5-3. Gould made breaks of 83, 75, 66 and 53 while Joyce made 126 and 54. 'Had a great match this morning with Mark Joyce. Both of us scored very heavy! thankfully I got thru to Australia with 5-3 victory now to book some flights :-)' Gould wrote on Facebook after the match.

Yu Delu's hope to Australia was stopped by Ryan Day. Day enjoyed a 5-0 victory with 84, 62 and 60. Mark Allen will be his opponent in the Last 32 at the venue.

Stuart Bingham will want to have a revenge on Ding Junhui - He came through the qualifying to play Ding in the next round. He booked his seat by victory of 5-2 over Michael Holt. Bingham wrote on Twitter after the match: "Strewth. Glad to get that out of the way. A solid 5-2 win over Holty. Got Ding Down Under. Revenge time me thinks!" 

Another Chinese Player stopped at the last round of qualifying. Tian Pengfei lost in the decider against Mark Davis though Tian knocked out 85, 110 in the match. Mark Davis will play Judd Trump at the venue.

Finally Liang Wenbo entered the Last 32 of a ranking event. Liang has not done well for a while. I hope his 5-3 victory over Ben Woolaston will help hime do better in the new season.

David Gilbert had an impressive whitewash against Mark King. Gilbert will play Graeme Dott at the venue.

Full Result of Australian Goldfields Open Qualifying Day 4, Thursday June 30


51. Ricky Walden 0  v 5 Matthew Selt (Winner to play John Higgins at venue*)
52. Martin Gould 5 v 3 Mark Joyce (Winner to play Stephen Hendry at venue*)
53. Robert Milkins 2 v 5 Rory McLeod (Winner to play Peter Ebdon at venue*)
54. Andrew Higginson 5 v 4 Jamie Burnett (Winner to play Shaun Murphy at venue*)
55. Marcus Campbell 5 v 4 Mike Dunn (Winner to play Ali Carter at venue*)
56. Ryan Day 5 v 0 Yu Delu (Winner to play Mark Allen at venue*)


57. Gerard Greene  2 v 5 Tom Ford (Winner to play Jamie Cope at venue*)
58. Stuart Bingham 5 v 2 Michael Holt (Winner to play Ding Junhui at venue*)
59. Joe Perry 5 v  2 Fergal O'Brien (Winner to play Mark Selby at venue*)
60. Mark Davis 5 v 4 Tian Pengfei (Winner to play Judd Trump at venue*)


61. Liang Wenbo 5  v 3 Ben Woolaston (Winner to play Matthew Stevens at venue*)
62. Ken Doherty 5 v 2 Scott MacKenzie (Winner to play Stephen Maguire at venue*)
63. Barry Hawkins 4  v  5 Nigel Bond (Winner to play Neil Robertson at venue*)
64. Dominic Dale 5 v 2 Liam Highfield (Winner to play Ronnie O'Sullivan at venue*)
65. Mark King 0 v  5 Dave Gilbert (Winner to play Graeme Dott at venue*)
66. Stephen Lee 3 v 5 Barry Pinches (Winner to play Mark Williams at venue*)

* The two lowest seeded qualifiers will have to play a wild card.


Post a Comment